skip navigation

Voting is Open for the Fans' 3 Stars of the 2017-18 Season!

By Jane Norton, 03/09/18, 12:00PM EST


To Vote, Click HERE

It’s NWHL Awards season, and for the second consecutive season the fans will have their say about their favorite players!

Voting for the NWHL Fans’ 3 Stars of the Season is open now. Please fill out the ballot HERE. Your picks are entirely up to you! They can be the greatest players and the MVPs of the NWHL, but they can also be the players you personally admire for their work ethic, for their leadership, for the way they communicate with fans at NWHL events or through social media.

With so many talented, dedicated, community-minded and fan-friendly players to choose from, we know this won’t be easy. Please fill out the fancy ballot here and list the players from 1-3 that you want to nominate for The Fans’ 3 Stars of the Season.

You have until 5 p.m. ET on Thursday, March 15 to complete your ballots.

In 2017, the first-ever recipients of the NWHL Fans’ 3 Stars of the Season were Rebecca Russo of the Riveters and U.S. Olympic Team; then-Buffalo forward Harrison Browne (now with the Rivs) and Connecticut Whale and NWHLPA leader Anya Battaglino.

Upon learning about her selection, Battaglino said, “To be selected alongside two of the league’s brightest stars, Harrison and Rebecca, is such an honor. They are both such amazing pioneers and have done so much to move our sport forward and develop deep connections with our fans. The fans are the lifeblood of the NWHL and their support is the reason we are able to chase our dreams. Thank you for all of the love, the support, and the fun. The league is made better every single day by our fans and I couldn't imagine this journey without them.”

Who will it be this season?

The 2017-18 NWHL Awards will be announced via social media on Tuesday, March 20 beginning at Noon ET via Twitter, Instagram and Facebook. The players will vote on two awards: Most Valuable Player and the Denna Laing Award (for leadership, perseverance and dedication to the game). The League Office will select the recipients of the NWHL Foundation Awards (for efforts in charitable and women’s hockey development initiatives).

A panel of NWHL reporters and broadcasters will select the winners for Goaltender of the Year, Defender of the Year and – for the first time ever – Rookie of the Year! Players are eligible for Rookie of the Year if they entered this season having played a total of three games or fewer in the pros.

Balloting for your 3 Stars of the Season begins now and continues for just one week. So fans, let’s get started!