skip navigation

Isobel Cup

The Isobel Cup is the championship trophy of the National Women’s Hockey League. It received its name from Lord Frederick Arthur Stanley’s daughter, Isobel, who shared his love of the game and is known to be one of the first female hockey players in Canada. Isobel, along with her brothers, encouraged her father to purchase a silver cup to award to the best amateur hockey team in Canada. The Stanley Cup, as it was later named, became the championship trophy of the National Hockey League (NHL).

The front of The Cup reads: "The Lady Isobel Gathorne-Hardy Cup 1875-1963. This Cup, shall be awarded annually to the greatest professional women's hockey team in North America. All who pursue this Cup, pursue a dream; a dream born with Isobel, that shall never die. EST. 2016”.

In 2016, Boston won the league’s first Isobel Cup. Buffalo took home the title in 2017, and the Metropolitan Riveters hoisted it over their heads in 2018.