skip navigation

About the National Women's Hockey League

The NWHL is the first professional women’s hockey league in North America. The inaugural season began October 11, 2015 with the Founding Four: Boston Pride, Buffalo Beauts, Connecticut Whale and New York Riveters. The Boston Pride became the first team in NWHL history to raise the Isobel Cup on March 12, 2016.

On March 19, 2017, the NWHL's second season concluded with the Buffalo Beauts being crowned Isobel Cup Champions.

The NWHL exists to redefine the pinnacle of women's hockey, and serve as an example for the future of independent professional women's sports leagues.

Unlike other professional leagues, the NWHL is built on social values:

Equality - Every girl can dream just as big as her brother.
Empowerment - Great role-models deserve the biggest stage.
Inclusiveness - If you can play, you can play.

Who is the NWHL for?

Collegiate hockey players no longer need to resign themselves to beer leagues. We exist as an avenue to not only for athletes to continue playing, but to keep improving.

Fans of women's hockey deserve to watch the best players in the world more often than once every four years. 3.9 million people tuned in to watch the 2014 gold medal game, and those same people can tune in to watch the Isobel Cup be hoisted every year. is the official website for the National Women's Hockey League. The NWHL logo, and team logos are trademarks of the National Women's Hockey League. All NWHL logos and marks and NWHL team logos and marks depicted herein are the property of the NWHL and the respective teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of The NWHL. © NWHL 2016. All Rights Reserved.